Pseudogamy 103

I wanted something, of course, to say that the young woman had “cheated,” because I felt betrayed. Surely moral philosophy had been invented to salve the emotional turmoil I felt. Not that we had made any vows. We were engaging in house-playing, marriage-pretending, the most common form of pseudogamy in our time. We wanted the perks of marriage, and expected from one another the faithfulness of marriage, without having made the promises of marriage. The pain I felt was the pain of frustrated sin, though I didn’t see that at the time. Nor did I see that I had been living a diabolical lie.

via Touchstone Magazine – Mere Comments: Pseudogamy 103.

Leave a Reply

